WIAW: Veggie Edition

Last week I failed miserably in the adding veggies to my meal theme that Jenn at Peas and Crayons suggested for the month of February.  So today, I made up for that fact and veggie-fied almost EVERY meal this week!  Here are my eats from this past Sunday:

It’s not every day I end up eating veggies for breakfast.  In fact, I cannot recall the last time I had veggies for breakfast but I remember seeing Kristin add spinach to her oatmeal breakfast concoctions so I decided to be healthy today and add some spinach to my oats! Yes, adding spinach to oats does sound disgusting if you just picture spinach leaves in oats but it’s more sneaky than that!  I added the spinach to the egg whites and blended it all up!  Could not even taste the green!!

1/2c oats, 1c water, 1 banana, 2 egg whites blended with handful of spinach, topped with ground flax, a banana chocolate chip muffin and crunchy Skippy Natural peanut butter!  This is seriously the BEST peanut butter!  This bowl was really as huge as it looks.  I am not sure what made this fill the bowl this full but I will take it!!

After cleaning up and starting some laundry, I did my workout for the day.  On Sunday’s Sister goes to a yoga body bootcamp but I choose to stay home and get some quality Insanity time in!!  I did the Cardio Power & Resistance DVD, followed by Jillian Michael’s yoga for my back and some free weight work.  This combo was a really good workout for a Sunday and one done in my basement :D

After working out, I wanted to have a little snack to get some protein in within 30 minutes which would give me time to shower before lunch!

Today I choose 2 string cheeses and an Emergen-C, tropical flavor, for my post workout snack!

Lunch followed not too long after snack #1 of the day and let me tell ya, this lunch was SO GOOD!

Open faced BLTs with a side of homemade guacamole and some tortilla chips!  This lunch was terribly delicious… Two pieces of Udi’s Ancient Grains Millet and Chia Bread (best gluten free bread ever!), topped with a little spread of Trader Joe’s Aioli Mustard spread, two large leaves of lettuce, 1/2 tomato and 2 slices of BACON!  The quac was just a mashed up avocado mixed with some Wholly Salsa (so good!!!).

After lunch, we took the pup on a walk and then headed to Whole Foods to get some ingredients for my afternoon baking experiment.  $60 of non-essential items later, we came home to make my baking experiment and afternoon snack of Homemade Chocolate Brownie Clif Bars!  Here is the recipe!

We also snacked on some popcorn while these were setting up!

This may or may not be a file photo because we eat this all the time on the weekends... oops!

Dinner was a good one!  And also a repeat of our dinner from last Sunday night.  It’s really hard to not crave treat type foods on the weekend so we have come up with a few healthy swaps that still taste good but are much better for you.  This crust recipe was put up by Carrots ‘n Cake awhile back and we have made it a couple of times since!  We topped tonight’s pie with chicken sausage, black olives and shredded cheese.

I think this tasted even better this time than last time!  Served with a side of veggie topped with olive oil and balsamic.

And what Sunday is complete without a little ice cream?  Not this one, that is for sure!

Small dish of chocolate ice cream with shredded coconut on top. Yum!!

So sad that another good day of eats is over but there’s always next week!  And let the veggie consumption continue!!

Happy Wednesday!

8 thoughts on “WIAW: Veggie Edition

Leave a Reply

